top of page

Disneyland Gender Reveal


Disneyland Gender Reveal

The day we found out we were having a baby girl, I couldn't wait to start shopping for dresses, bows, tutus and her first pair of Minnie ears. We wanted to surprise our friends and families, but we also didn't know how we wanted to reveal the gender to them. My Husband had a great idea and I loved it! We should reveal the gender at Disneyland! I mean my Husband is a genius, it was a perfect idea for us. We love anything Disney and everybody knew it. Now we just needed to pick out her name, we couldn't seem to find a name that both loved. The searched continued...

We finally had the perfect name for our baby girl, Alani Sara Powers! Here's a little background on Alani's name. We had our Babymoon in Hawaii, no one knew we were pregnant and we planned to announce our pregnancy there. We both completely fell in love with the place. During our visit to Hawaii we visited the Disney Resort Aulani, I couldn't believe how magical and amazing the Resort was. Going back to that beautiful memory, I came up with Alani. I took the "U" out from Aulani, so people wouldn't mispronounce it. The more I kept saying it, the more I kept falling in love with it and the more special it became to me. It was a special time in our marriage, The Powers Family was growing.

When we were trying to plan for our Disneyland Gender Reveal, I wanted to buy Minnie ears with Alani's name on it and have both Mickey and Minnie with us while we announced it. My husband called numerous times to Disneyland to see what we were able to do and if it was a possibility. He is just the sweetest man, any shenanigans that comes into my head, he always tries to make them come true.

We weren't able to have Mickey and Minnie together at the same time. The cast member my husband talked to, suggested we did a character dinning experience, we would have access to a lot of Disney Characters, which I was all in for. We booked the Plaza Inn at Disneyland. Since we couldn't do what I wanted for the reveal, my husband had another great idea!

The day of our Disneyland trip, we picked out Alani's First Minnie ears and added her name onto it. I was wearing my Aulani Shirt, and brought extra clothes for our reveal. We had Breakfast at the Plaza Inn, we had so much fun with all the characters and I ate like 5 Mickey Waffles.

After Breakfast we wanted to take pictures of the Minnie hat around the park. We headed towards the castle, but we stopped in front of Walt and Mickeys Statue. There was a tiny Minnie Mouse Statue which was perfect with Alani's polkadots ears.

After taking a couple Pictures I wanted to get a button, announcing we were having a baby girl. At the time (2015) the "I'm Celebrating button" didn't have room to write anything on it and the Cast Member said she wasn't allowed to write on it either, she gave me a Happy Birthday Button and wrote, "IT'S A GIRL!" I loved it! Everybody congratulated me.

Cast Members are Magical creatures!

My Husband and I changed to our Gender Reveal clothes and headed to the Castle. So my Husband's idea was to buy two Disneyland Balloons, One PINK and the other BLUE. We will take a picture in front of the castle with both Balloons and post it on social Media, Caption it, "Princess or Prince?" the guesses started rolling in.

Cast members and Disneyland Guests, helped us out a lot on our gender reveal, especially on our second picture. We had a Disneyland Guest hold our BLUE balloon and a Cast Member handing us our sign to hold. Everybody cheered after reading the sign and more congratulation came our way. It was a magical reveal and moment for us. Thank you for everybody that helped us out.

(We got our sign at Hobby Lobby)

After this magical moment, we headed to TOONTOWN to let our pals Mickey and Minnie know about they're new best friend. They were very excited to hear the big news!

Once again my Husband is a rockstar, for making this gender reveal come true for me! Disneyland holds a special place in all of our hearts!

Have a DISNEY DAY!

bottom of page