top of page

Hei Hei DIY dog Costume

HEI HEI!?!?! -Moana

Hei hei is one of our family's favorite character in Moana. Our Pup Butterscotch will be dressing up as Hei hei for this year's Halloween. Alani freaked out when she saw her pup dressed up as Hei hei, it was pretty funny. Heres how to make your very own Hei Hei DIY dog costume.

If you saw my Pua DIY costume post, a lot of the materials I used for that costume, I used for the Hei hei costume too. Lets begin!

Materials:

*Felt Fabric, Green 70x60cm, red type packet and monotone packet, yellow (you'll need a small piece for the beak) from Daiso Japan ( Check for near by store in your area)

*Sharpie (brown/black)

*Scissors

*Glue gun (Glue Sticks)

*Hook and Loop Fasteners (99 cents store only)

*String

*Mardi Gras feather Boa ( like the one on the picture above)

*Orange feathers (8)

*Foam ball (dollar tree came in a 4 pack)

*I bought the Dog jacket from Walmart of last year, size small. I use it to trace out the outline of the costume. You can find similar product at Target, in their dollar spot area. They have some halloween ones right now, which has the same outline as the jacket.

With the jacket I have, I traced an outline for the Hei hei costume with the black sharpie. I cut out the outline and started to play around with the feathers before glueing them onto the costume, to see what way looked best. I got the Mardi gras Boa and cut off the green feather part. On the lower part of the costume, I got my glue gun and made a few lines to cover only the bottom. I got the green feathers and placed them onto the bottom part of the costume. This is super easy and way easier than glueing feathers one at a time. This is why I picked the Mardi gras boa, plus I already had one at home, that I never used.

When you're done glueing the green feathers on, you can cut off any extra green feathers you don't want. Cut off the yellow feather part of the Boa and all you'll have left is the purple part, you can keep for more arts and crafts later on or can toss it away. On the rest of the costume (the top) glue more lines and add the yellow boa feathers on. I bought a packet of orange feathers to go in between the green and yellow feathers. I bought them at Micheals, remember to get your coupons for discounts. The 8 or so orange feathers I used, I had to glue one by one. Again play around with them in different places to see what looks best. This optional if you want to add Hook and loop fastener onto the costumes. I got them at the 99 cent store only, I cut them in half and glued onto the straps. If you don't want the hook and loop Fasteners, Make sure to make the straps long enough to be tied on, while the pup is wearing it.

How easy was that!

Now we are ready to make the hat. When making the hat, I drew out a sketch that looks somewhat like a triangle. I first made sure the measurements of one dog was good(they both pretty much wear the same size, Small) so if you have a small dog like mine, these measurements might work with yours too.

With the extra fabric, I traced the outline of the hat and cut it out. On the top of my hat creation, I glued the Part where is says "glue gun" together. Then I cut 4 string ( 5 1/2 inches) and glued them to the corners.

*The three lower pictures with the white fabric are from the Pua's costume. I Used Green fabric for the Hei hei costume for the hat, I just forgot to take the pictures ( I hope this isn't confusing)

To make Hei Hei's eyes I bought foam balls from the 99 cent store only, it came in a 4 pack. I got one of the balls and cut in half. For the pupil I colored black and the out line was brown. The top eye lids for the eyeballs, I grabbed a dark red fabric (you can pick any red color you want) and cut one side straight and the other side kinda like a very long and thin semi circle. For the bottom I did the same thing with an off white color. and glued it on the foam ball.

With a bright red color, do your very best to trace out Hei Hei's Comb and wattles. For his Beak, I cut out a triangle and glued the bottom corners together. On the very front of the hat I glued the beak underneath the hat and glued the wattle on top of the beak and part of the hat. For Hei hei's Comb, on the bottom of it I cut out some line. I folded one side left and glued that part and folded the other cut to the right side and glued it and so on (check the picture below). Thats how I glued the comb on the top center part of the hat, I didn't want to the comb to fold only on one side. I tried to make it go straight up. I glued the eye balls on each side. The whole eye ball won't fit on the hat, so don't worry about it.

After everything is glued onto the hat the extra feathers I had from the yellow feather boa, I glued it onto the hat to cover all the green fabric. Now put it on your pup and have fun at halloween!!

bottom of page