top of page

Pua DIY Pet costume

Halloween is around the corner, and in this family our pups dress up too. This Do it yourself mom always makes Dobby's and Butterscotch's costumes every year! Our daughter Alani is obsess with MOANA and thats how the pups costumes for this year was decided, Pua and Hei Hei. Dobby the Boy Dog will be Pua the pig! Heres how to make Pua DIY Dog costume, Super easy! No sewing, just glueing!!!

Items:

*I bought the Felt Fabric at Daiso Japan (check for near by store in your area)

*sharpie, Brown and black

* scissors

* glue gun (glue sticks)

* hook and loop Fasteners (99cent store Only)

* string

* I bought this little jacket from Walmart last year which fits both my dogs (Size Small) and I use it to trace an outline for the costume. You can find similar products at target at their dollar spot section, just make sure it fits your dog. They have some halloween ones right now which are the same outline of the jacket.

I start tracing the outline on the felt White fabric with the sharpie. After tracing it, I start Cutting out the outline of the costume. When the outline is cut out, I start cutting out different grey spots like the ones Pua has on his body. I had a stuffed animal to help me out. When you have the spots cut out, try them out on different areas of the costume, before gluing them on, so you know what looks best.

I made a tail for the Pua costume. I just cut a Long rectangle and glued the sides together. On the side where I glued the tail onto the costume, I made sure to cut it again and made it more circle ish, to be abled to fold back and glue it on. I also cut a grey semi circle for Pua's hair tail, wrapped it around the end of the tail and glued it. This is optional, if you want to put the hook and loop fastener on, I cut them in half and glued gun them to the straps. If you don't want the hook and loop fasteners, make sure to make the straps long enough to be able to tie it on, when the pup is wearing it.

The body costume part is DONE! On to the next, The hat!

When making the hat, I drew out a sketch that looks somewhat like a triangle. I first made sure the measurements of one dog was good (they both pretty much wear the same size, Small) so if you have a small dog like mine, these measurements might work with yours too.

With the extra fabric, I traced the outline of the hat and cut it out. On the top of my hat creation, I glued the Part where is says "glue gun" together. Then I cut 4 string ( 5 1/2 inches) and glued them to the corners.

I cut out two white triangles and two pink triangles, for Pua's ears. I glued one white and one pink triangles together. I pinched the top of the ear forward and glued it to look like the top of the ear is folded down. I also folded the bottom of the ear backwards to be able to glue the ears onto the hat. I had extra grey fabric left, I cut out a couple more spots for the ears.

Now for the pig nose, I cut out an oval pink shape and two small ovals for the naturals with a darker shade of pink. I glued the pig nose onto the very front of the hat. Play around with the ears and make sure you glue them where you think looks best but remember to leave space for the eyes.

I cut out two small white circles, for Pua's eyes. The pupil was black and the outline was brown. I had more grey fabric to make a spot for Pua's left eye. After glueing everything together, you're pups costume is ready!!!

bottom of page